“You know what to do with that big fat butt.” Did Jason Just Call Me Fat?

Wiggle.Wiggle.Wiggle.

What?

Screen Shot 2014-08-12 at 1.50.21 PM

If you know me you’d know I have a little thing I’d like to call radio A.D.D, where I change the song every ten seconds and move on to another. Yeah, I like to play hard to get with my radio. I listen to all sorts of music: Hip Hop, Rap, Pop, Country, a little R&B for the soul, One Direction (Hey Harry, you never called!).  It really opens up my mind, body and soul. Lol, jk. I’m still trying to figure out what that Iggy girl is singing about.

But it’s completely liberating and totally badass to rap along songs when they comes on the radio. It’s that five second moment you feel like a boss and nail every hook of the song, showing off your moves and feeling a bit superior to the friend who couldn’t keep up.

Barang-ban-ba. Tu cuerpo la di doo da doo da dida bajando. BAILANDO.

Enrique, what are you saying?

I never really stopped to think about what I’m listening to. I just go with the flow and most of the time not even pay attention to what is coming out of my mouth in a symphonic Mariah Carey pitched harmony. Unless I’m belching out Stay With Me by Sam Smith and mean every.single.word. I’m not the only one, right?

Living with my bitches. Hashtag-Live.

It’s so amazing to see how lenient we are to use derogatory terms to address each other. It’s bitches driving Range Rovers in one station, while bad bitches shows up on another. These terms have become so meaningless that we’re all numb to them and, to some, this is often a compliment.

Yous a bad bish. Um, no thank you.

But why are we so comfortable accepting the use of these terms? Just because this is “part of our generation” doesn’t mean we have to accept it. Way too often girls, and their army of skanks, refer to one another as bitches, sluts, and whores.

Why? Where’s the love, y’all. I don’t know.

Why can’t music be more real like that RUDE song, Why you gotta be so rude? For real man, why? Don’t you know I’m human too? We’re all humans. This song is already so relatable. Why can’t songs now a days be more real—as real as this poor guy trying to marry a girl he loves and obviously can’t have?

Instead artists keep portraying women as mere objects that can be called whatever the rapper wishes. These hoe’s ain’t loyal. Well, Chris, maybe you should change who you’re hanging around with. Problem solved. Eh, not really.

Unfortunately we can’t control how artists refer to women, or anyone in particular, but we can control how it influences us on the daily. 

Beware of what you sing. The more you sing it, the more you start to believe in what’s coming out of your mouth.

Ms. Norbury said it ten years ago and she’s right. You have all got to stop calling each other sluts and whores.

Screen Shot 2014-08-12 at 1.44.03 PM

Beijos.

Author: Caroline Franco

Marketing & PR

Leave a Reply

